July 19, 2012

Kerala State Film Awards 2011


This year's Kerala State Film Awards packs in a lot of surprises.Dileep finally manages to win one State Award for the Best Actor where as Swetha Menon gets one for her role in Ashiq Abu's surprise hit,Salt N Pepper.Though we seriously doubt whether Dileep's portrayal of Shahjahan in Vellaripravinte Changathy is award worthy we are happy for him.He didn't win one when he most deserved it(read Chandupottu,Kunjikoonan)but has walked away with one when no one expected him to do so.Ranjith's 'Indian Rupee' was undoubtedly the best movie of 2011 whereas we are still wondering why the jury gave the award for the best story for M Mohanan(Manikyakallu).Deepak Dev wins the award for the best Background Score for successfully lifting tunes from every other epic movie ranging from Gladiator to Troy and passing it off as his own in Urumi while Santhosh Sivan gets nothing for his brilliant frames in Urumi.Fahad Fazil bags an award for his very ordinary performance in Chappa Kurishu(we haven't seen 'Akam' yet)whereas Thilakan(Achutha Menon-Indian Rupee) loses the award yet again.Seriously,WTF?
The Winners are
  • Best Film – Indian Rupee (Ranjith/August Cinema)
  • Best Direction – Blessy for Pranayam 
  • Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment –Salt n Pepper (Aashiq Abu/Lucsam Creations)
  • Best Actor – Dileep for Vellaripravinte Changathy
  • Best Actress – Swetha Menon for Salt n Pepper
  • Best Actress (Second)– Nilambur Ayisha for Oomakkuyil Padumbol
  • Best Actor(Second) –Fahad Fazil for Akam,Chappa Kurishu
  • Second Best Movie- Ivan Megharoopan
  • Best Cinematographer: M.J Radhakrishnan for Akashathinte Niram
  • Best Screenplay: Bobby-Sanjay for Traffic
  • Best Story:M Mohanan for Manikyakallu
  • Best Actor in a Comic Role-Jagathy Sreekumar for Swapna Sanchari
  • Best Music : Sharath for Ivan Megharoopan
  • Best Lyrics :Sreekumaran Thampy for Nayika
  • Best Background Score:Deepak Dev(Urumi)
  • Best Playback singer (male) : Sudeep for Rathinirvedam
  • Best Playback singer (female): Shreya Ghoshal for Veeraputhran
  • Best Debutant Director : Sherry for Aadimadyantham
  • Best Editing : Vinod Sukumaran for Ivan Megharoopan
  • Best Production Design:---  for Nayika
  • Best Sound Design:Rajakrishnan for Urumi
  • Special Mention : Dr Biju for Akashathinte Niram
  • Best Child actor:  Malavika for Oomakkuyil Padumbol
  • Best Writing on Cinema: G.P.Ramachandran



manoj said...

award for dileep?what the ....!